Friday, April 29, 2016

Vegan 101

By: Cecily Costa

The word “vegan” was invented by Donald Watson, the founder of the UK Vegan Society in 1944. He was born in 1910 and died at the age of 95 in his home in Northern England. In 1944, he got together with a group of friends to find a word that would describe their diets. He suggested “vegan,” using the first three and last two letters of “vegetarian.” A vegan is a person who does not eat or use animal products. (Sourced from www.veganpeace.com and www.eatthis.com.)

Oh no, 10 vegetarian foods that surprisingly are NOT vegan:


  1. White Sugar—refined white sugar is bleached in a process that entails running the sugar through “bone char” or “natural car-bon”...basically charred cattle bones.
  2. Vanilla (non-dairy) Ice Cream—the “natural vanilla flavor” may come from Castoreum, a yellowish-brown, musky secretion from beavers.
  3. Orange Juice with Omega-3’s & Vitamin D—unless they’re synthetic Omega-3’s, they come from anchovies, tilapia and/or sardines. Orange Juice with Vitamin D generally comes from lanolin, a waxy substance from sheep’s wool.
  4. Bananas—if it not “organic” bananas have probably been sprayed with the preservative Chi-tosan, a bacteria-fighting compound made from shrimp and crab shells.
  5. Bagels—turns out that some “dough conditioners” contain the enzyme L Cysteine, sourced from duck and chicken feathers.
  6. Red Candies—”natural red #4”, aka carminic acid, is made from crushed up beetles.
  7. Hard-Coated Candies—”shellac” or “confectioner’s glaze” (and the stuff in your manicure and hairspray) comes from a resin from the female Lac Bug. Don’t worry, M&M’s are safe!!!
  8. Beer & Wine—some are clarified using Isinglass, a gelatin from fish bladders (vegetarian clarifi-ers are made from clay or algae).
  9. Salted Peanuts—some brands use gelatin (from pork).